This is the "Need to find a book review?" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Book Reviews   Tags: book reviews  

Last Updated: May 10, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.odu.edu/bookreviews Print Guide

Need to find a book review? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

For Current Reviews...

Try using the library's DISCOVERY TOOL (on the front page of our web site) to find book reviews in many disciplines.  Just type the title of the book in quotation marks [ "i am malala" ] as a keyword and Search.  On the left side of your results list under SOURCE TYPES, check REVIEWS.


Book Review Indexes

Major review sources list hundreds of thousands of book reviews.  Take note of the dates covered by these indexes.  For the most current book reviews, use the Discover Tool (above) or our library databases (to the right).

  • New York Review of Books  
      
    Current (Restricted to ODU)
  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive  
      
    [Times of London] Reviews in all disciplines. 1902 - 5 years ago (Restricted to ODU)
  • New York Times w/ Index  
      
    Use advanced search, and limit results to Review. 1851 - 2012 (Restricted to ODU)
  • New York Times Book Review Index [in print]
    General Coll./Floor 4: Z1035.A1N4 -- covers the years 1896-1970; updated by Book Review section in New York Times Index
  • Book Review Digest [in print]
    Periodicals/Jrnls Floor 2: Z1219.C96 -- covers the years 1905 to 2009
  • Book Review Index [in print]
    Periodicals/Jrnls Floor 2: Z1035.A1B6 -- covers the years 1965 to 2008
  • Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals [in print]
    General Coll./Floor 4: Z1035.A1C6 & C65 -- 1806-1974

For reviews of 19th century books

Find Book Reviews in library databases

Of course, book reviews will also be included in our subject databases. You should be able to limit your search to REVIEWS or BOOK REVIEWS.

 

Help Desk Chat

If you need help, don't hesitate to ask.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip