LibGuides: Public Administration: Legislation

Legal Databases

HeinOnline
2000-Present (Restricted to ODU)
HeinOnline focuses on legal history and government documents. It contains the full text of thousands of law-related periodicals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations. HeinOnline also includes treaties, case law, world trials, statutes, and foreign relations materials.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Lexis Nexis Academic has been up graded to Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices. Students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable setting of Alerts, saving searches and bookmarking documents of interest.

Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
1824 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. Collection includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
1789 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, with extensive inserted materials, communications for the president and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), Congressional Hearings (1824-2003), and Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (1789-present). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).

Code of Virginia
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Virginia Legislative Information System
Legislative bill tracking, searchable Virginia code and regulations, information on the state budget, etc.
Virginia State Documents
Virginia State Documents is a list of publications currently in print and available to the public from agencies of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is compiled from reports submitted to the Library of Virginia by agencies, departments, divisions, and institutions or branches of the state government.

Digital National Security Archive
Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to ODU)
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
National Security Archive
Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
1993 - present (Unrestricted)
An online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.