A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
1985 – Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
African Books Collective (ABC) is an African-owned mission-based distribution outlet for books published in Africa. Publishers include: scholarly and literary presses; children’s book publishers; research institutes; university presses; commercial presses – large and small; NGOs; writer, academic, and activist organizations or collectives. The library currently has digital access to the pre-2020 backlist of titles, as well as the frontlists for 2020 and 2021, which amounts to over 1500 titles. (A pop-up should be enabled on public institution IP ranges that will apply immediate Guest Access, and users should also be able to register personal or institutional email addresses when within valid IP ranges).
New
Coverage Varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums. Includes an option to search for images.
New
1882-1986 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II, provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. It contains around 350,000 pages of incoming and outgoing correspondence, organizational records, and printed material, including early pamphlets and publications both by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian-related organizations. The papers of Herbert Welsh, founder of the Indian Rights Association, are also included.
New
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Opera in Video feature the most significant opera performances from around the world, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. These selections, showcasing the world's top performers, conductors, and opera houses, are chosen based on their importance to the operatic canon.
New

Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Platino Educa is a Spanish Language film streaming platform with over 300 films from Spain and Latin America. The films are classified by subject and cover a broad range of themes, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and social justice. The films were specifically selected for teaching and some come paired with preselected scene clips and educational guides. Films have Spanish and English subtitles. More than 70% of titles are solely distributed in the U.S. through Platino Educa. The product was voted “Best New Product” at the 2022 Charleston Library Conference.

New
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A collection of current, scholarly ebooks from University of Michigan Press focusing on humanities and social sciences. Search by all content, only content ODU owns, or only OA content.
New
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The hub currently consists of seven institutional collections that contain course aligned OER adoptions. Campus leaders at these institutions collaborated with VIVA to collect course information associated with OER adoptions identified through the VIVA Open Education Network (OEN) program.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...