Skip to main content

Updates to Libraries' Services

Relevant information related to ODU Libraries operations, resources and services during the ongoing COVID-19 crisis.

ELECTRONIC COLLECTIONS/RESOURCES

As usual, all of our electronic collections and resources are available and can be accessed through our website odu.edu. For most of the resources, your MIDAS account will be required.

  • Library databases provide access to thousands of electronic scholarly journals and many other sources.
  • Use Monarch OneSearch to find ebooks, streaming video and other online resources. 
    • Enter your search term/s and filter your search (on the left) to “Full Text Online” items and then “Resource Type.” 
  • Digital Collections include rare and unique images, documents, oral histories, and video from our archives, special collections, and other campus units. 
  • ODU Digital Commons provides open access to many of the scholarly resources produced by ODU faculty and researchers.

For issues accessing our remote services and resources, contact us using this form.

PHYSICAL MATERIALS

During the current COVID-19 situation, ODU students, faculty, and staff have two options acquiring print materials from the University Libraries.

  • In-person checkout at Perry Library, Hofheimer Art Library, and Music Library/Diehn Composers Room. 
  • If coming to campus is not an option, you can have materials mailed to your home using the Interlibrary Loan request form. The status of the book/media needs to be Available/Item in place. If you are a first-time user, you will need to create your account, a quick online process. Fill out a request for each item needed. Choosing the "Mail to Address" delivery method will prompt you to enter your shipping address. Please make sure your address is accurate!
  •  Use the "LOGIN to Interlibrary Loan" button on the Interlibrary Loan page to make your requests.

RESERVE MATERIALS

Course reserve materials are not available in print.

FACULTY: If you need electronic materials for your students, please contact your Liaison Librarian for help in identifying, ordering and/or linking to electronic materials. For books in Perry Library, faculty can request that specific chapters (not entire books) be scanned as PDF files for use in Blackboard. Please submit the Reserve Scanning Request Form for needed materials. 

DONATIONS/BOOK SALE

Book and other physical material donations are not accepted at this time. We hope to revisit this option in the Spring 2021 semester. View our Gift Policy.

The Libraries will not be hosting a booksale in Fall 2020.

chat loading...