LibGuides: Education (Teaching & Learning): Databases

Education Databases

Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
1966 - present (Unrestricted)
Provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present. Also contains a growing collection of full-text materials, including reports from the What Works Clearinghouse.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
1927 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues.
International Encyclopedia of Education
2010 (Restricted to ODU)
Of interest to educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
LearnTechLib
2000 - present (Restricted to ODU)
The premiere online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Teacher Reference Center
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Psychology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
1965 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide (PDF – Links to an external source may not be accessible) for help using the database.

Children and Young Adult Literature Databases

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
Includes reviews, MARC records and related information about children's literature from over 38 quality review media including the ALAN Review, BookList, KIRKUS, National Science Teachers Association, and VOYA. Find books by subject, age level, genre, and much more. Includes Reading Measurement Programs (Lexile, AR, Scholastic Reading Counts), Curriculum Tools, and links to over 240,000 web pages featuring children's authors and illustrators.
Something About the Author
1971 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.

Library and Information Studies Databases

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
1960's - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings, covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
1980 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation. Coverage back to 1980.