LibGuides: History: Articles

Academic or Scholarly Research Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text
1955 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1955 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
1450 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Project Muse
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

American Indian Histories & Cultures
1492-present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.

Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
1900 - present (includes Archives) (Restricted to ODU)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.