LibGuides: Victorian Periodicals in the ODU Library: Periodicals on the Web

Periodicals on the Web

19th Century UK Periodicals
1800 - 1900 (Restricted to VIVAODU)
Provides access to the series focusing on the British empire in the 19th century. Topics include travel and anthropology, economics, and the missionary and colonial periods. The periodicals are fully searchable and sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries.
British Periodicals Collection I & II
Late 1700's - 1800's (Restricted to ODU)
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Godey's Lady's Book
1830 - 1885 (Restricted to ODU)
Comprised of articles on fashion, entertainment, health and hygiene, recipes, and remedies, morality, gems and jewelry, handcrafts, marriage, education, suffrage, “hearth and home,” dating and marriage,

Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals.
Project Gutenberg
The first and largest single collection of free electronic books - includes periodicals.
The Online Books Page: Serials
Extensive list of periodicals from all time periods available freely on the Web.

British Library Newspapers
(Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains local and regional voices reflecting the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers were a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, and provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.
British Library Newspapers
1600-1950 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.