LibGuides: Art (Visual): Articles

Find Articles with Monarch OneSearch

Visit the library homepage at odu.edu/library to find Monarch OneSearch. This is a great place to start if you're looking for some articles. For more specific research, use the databases below!

Academic/Scholarly Databases

Art Full Text
1984 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 - present (Restricted to ODU)
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.
Art Index Retrospective
1913-Present, (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934 - present (Restricted to ODU)
This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
1973 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

Other Periodicals

19th Century British Library Newspapers
1800 - 1900 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
New York Times w/ Index
1851 - 2015 (Restricted to ODU)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
The Times Digital Archive
1785 - 2014 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page from The Times of London, first published in 1785. All articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos are divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Vogue Archive
1892 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names."--Web site