LibGuides: Economics: Statistics & Data

Library Databases

Global Financial Database
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
Contains economic, fixed income, equity, and total return categories, as well as a Global History of Currencies feature.
NOTE: Our subscription includes the U.S. Stock Market Database, not the Real Estate Database.
Academic users can login one of two ways:
If you login anonymously, you can search the database, access individual data series and graph individual series.
If you login with your username and password, you can also access your personalized home page, which helps you to customize your access, and download multiple series into a single worksheet.
To gain personal access to Global Financial Data, please create your own account. You must use your university email address in creating the account.
You must be logged in through your university’s proxy server using your university email address both to create your account and to log into the database. Any account created outside of the university will not be activated. Logins outside of the university’s server will not receive access.
The site will be under maintenance between 11/8/2024 to 11/10/2024.
International Financial Statistics
1948 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Historic and current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR's data holdings are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 780 member colleges and universities around the world. First time users must access this link to create an account.

FRED
Federal Reserve Economic Data
World Development Indicators

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Access to finance, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data from CUSIP, TRACE, ExecuComp, CRSP, Compustat, ETF Global, IBES Academic, and other data sources. We recommend that faculty, Ph.D students, staff, or master's students Register for their own account for remote access and other features. Otherwise, provide your campus e-mail address to receive one-day access to WRDS.
OECD iLibrary
Coverage varies (Open Access)
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) features its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Economics

Library Databases

Websites