LibGuides: Dissertations & Theses: Non-ODU Dissertations and Theses

Start Here

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses offers an index to search for over 1.4 million doctoral dissertations and master theses from ODU and other universities across the globe. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author. The database goes back to 1861, but full text is only available for most titles from 1990s-present. If full text is not available, request a copy through interlibrary loan.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
1743 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Not all dissertations and theses are submitted to ProQuest. You can try open access repositories below, or WorldCat, or Google.

WorldCat
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

Open Access Digital Repositories for Dissertations and Theses

If you are searching for online theses and dissertations from another institution, you may browse the following open access
collections, which can be accessed freely on the Internet.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Access to over 3 million international electronic theses and dissertations.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - Global ETD Search
"... dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs)." Not all are open access.
OpenDissertations
OpenDissertations is an open-access EBSCO database to assist researchers in locating dissertations and theses. It incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata from select colleges and universities from around the world. It will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
PQDT Open
"PQDT Open provides the full text of ProQuest open access dissertations and theses free of charge."
University of California ETDs
ETDs from all campuses of the University of California

International Dissertations and Theses

Theses Canada Portal
Over 50,000 ETDs are available from the Library and Archives Canada's collection. For full text, select "Electronic Theses" on the search screen.
British Library EThOS
Individuals may login and search this database of over 450,000 British theses and dissertations, without a fee. Some theses may be available on an open access basis. For those that aren't, individuals may need to request the item(s) through interlibrary loan or wait for digitization.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Over 725,000 full-text ETD's are available from 606 participating universities from 28 European countries.
Trove
A service of the National Library of Australia, Trove is a free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.
more...less...
For information on finding Australian theses, see Trove's Research and Reports page.
Shodhganga: A Reservoir of Indian Theses
The Shodhganga@INFLIBNET Centre provides a platform for research students to deposit their Ph.D. theses and make it available to the entire scholarly community in open access. The repository has the ability to capture, index, store, disseminate and preserve ETDs submitted by the researchers.