Skip to main content

History Collections on Microform

General Resources

Annals of the Royal College of Physicians 1518-1915
Adam Matthew Publications, 1991
Microfiche: R773.R5.A55 Part 1
Guide: R773.R5.A55 Part 1

Annals of the Royal College of Physicians 1518-1988
Part 2: Annals of the Royal College of Physicians, 1916-1988 (602 microfiche)
Part 3: Council Minutes of the Royal College of Physicians 1836-1978 (333 microfiche)
Adam Matthew Publications, 1991
Microfiche: R773.R5.A55
Guide: R773.R5.A55

Archives of the British Labour Party.
Hassocks, Sussex, London:  Harvester, 1974.
Microfilm: JN1129.L32.A7 (3 reels)

British Trade Union History Collection.
London:  World Microfilms, 1973.
Microfilm: HD6460.B74

Clarendon, George William Frederick Villers, 4th Earl of, 1800-1870.
The Clarendon Papers, 1867-1870.
Wilmington, DE:  Michael Glazier, Inc., 1979.
Microfilm: DA559.C5.A5 (l reel)

East Meets West: Original Records of Western Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats to 1852
Part 1: Christian Century in Japan; kirishitan Ban; Jesuit Editions, Early Travels to Japan; English East India Company, Dutch East India Company - Images of Japan.
Part 2: Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Expeditions to Japan, papers of Englebert Kaempher (1651-1716), Slaone Mss, Jesuit Missions 1593-1686, Richard Cock's Diary.
Part 3: Contains Papers of John Scattergood, Isaac Titsingh and Heinrich Julius Klaproth
Adam Matthew Publications, England
Microfilm: DS869.A3E27 (43 reels)
Guide: DS869.A3E27 1998

Empire Writes Back
Part 1: Indian Views on Britain and Empire 1810-1915
From the British Library, London
Adam Matthew Publications
Microfilm: DS432.5.I53 2003 (10 reels)
Guide: Micro DS432.%.I53 2003

Fortescue, John William, Sir, 1859-1933.  A History of the British Army:  Maps 1-212.
New York:  AMS Press, 1976.
Microfilm: UA649.F82 1976 Maps (1 reel)

Granville, George Levison-Gower, 2nd Earl, 1815-1891.  The Granville Papers.
Wilmington, DE:  Michael Glazier, Inc., 1979.
Microfilm: DA559.G6.A5 (2 reels)

Great Britain.  Parliament.  House of Commons.
British Sessional Papers (House of Commons).
New York:  Readex Microprint, 1943.
Microprint: J302.K613  [1731-1800, 1841-1865, 1900-1918]
Microfiche: J302.K613 [1866-1900]
Guide: Microprint J302.K613

Great Britain.  Colonial Defence Commission.  Report of the Royal Commisioners Appointed to Inquire into the Defence of British Possessions and Commerce Abroad Together with the Minutes of Evidence and Appendix.
London:  Ministry of Defence War Office Library, 1976.
Microfilm: DA16.G67 (2 reels)

Great Britain.  Colonial Office.  Colonial Reports.  Annual Reports on the Colonies (1889-1939).
New York: Library of Congress and Microfiche Systems Corp.
Microfilm: JV33.G7A4 (16 reels)
Guide: Micro JV33.G7.A42

Great Britain.  Foreign Office.  The Slave Trade, 1858-1892.
Wilmington, DE:  M. Glazier, 1977.
Microfilm: HT1321.G7 1977a (10 reels)
Guide: Micro HT1321.G7 1977

Great Britain.  Parliament.  Parliamentary Debates (Hansard).  1900-1905.
London:  Wyman.
Microfilm: J301.H22 (29 reels)

Great Britain.  Public Record Office.  Calendar of State Papers, Domestic Series, of the Reign of Charles II.
Nendeln, Liechtenstein:  Kraus, 1968.
Microfiche: DA25.C1 1968

Great Britain.  Public Record Office.  Calendar of State Papers, Domestic Series, of the reign of William III.
London:  Mackie and Co., 1908-1937.
Microfiche: DA 460.A2

Great Britain.  Sovereign. Queen Victoria, 1837-1901.
The Papers of Queen Victoria on Foreign Affairs:  Files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle.
Bethesda, MD:  University Publications of America, 1990.
Microfilm: DA552.G74 1990 pt. 1-6 (80 reels)
Guide: Micro DA552.G74 pt.1-6

Nineteenth Century English Drama
Princeton University Library
Microfiche: PR1271.E5

Parker, James, 1729-?.  The Parker Family Papers, 1760-1795.
Yorkshire, England:  Micro Methods, 1964.
Microfilm: E195.P36 (4 reels)

Parsons, Robert, 1546-1610.  The Judgment of a Catholicke English-Man Living in Banishment for his Religion (1608).
Gainesville, FL:  Scholar's Facsimiles & Reprints, 1957.
Microfiche: BR757.P37 1608

Peel, Robert, Sir Bart, 1788-1850.  Prime Minister's Correspondence:
Sir Robert Peel, 1841-1846.
Wakefield, England:  Micro Methods, 1968.
Microfilm: DA536.P3.P6 (6 reels)

Punch. London. July 17, 1841- April 8, 1992
Microfilm: AP101.P8 (Vol. 1-301)

Three Centuries of Drama, English (1516-1830)
Columbia University
Microfiche: PN1621.T57

United States.  Department of State.  Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of Great Britain, 1910-1929.
Washington:  National Archives.
Microfilm: DA556.7.U53 (reels 1-5; 51-96)

Witchcraft in Europe and America
Research Publications
Woodbridge, CT and Reading, England 1983
Microfilm: BF1565.W57 1983 (104 reels)
Guide: Micro BF 1565.W57

Notable British trials of:

  • Mary, Queen, 1586
  • Bloody Assizes, 1678
  • Jack Shepard, 1724
  • Annesley Case, 1743
  • Mary Blandy, 1752
  • Katharine Nairn, 1765
  • Duchess of Kingston, 1776
  • Henry Fauntleroy, 1824
  • James Blomfield Rush, 1849
  • Madeline Smith, 1858
  • Franz Muller, 1864
  • Wainwrights, 1875
  • Eugene Marie Chantrelle, 1878
  • Charles Peace, 1879
  • Adelaide Bartlett, 1886
  • Mrs. Maybrick, 1889
  • Thomas Neill Cream, 1892
  • William Gardiner, 1902
  • Adolf Beck, 1904
  • Hawley Harvey Cripper, 1910
  • Steine Morrison, 1911
  • George Joseph Smith, 1915
  • Harold Greenwood, 1920
  • Ronald True, 1922
  • Jean Pierre Vaquier, 1924
  • Benjamin Knowles
  • Sidney Fox, 1929
  • King Charles I, 1649
  • Captain Kidd, 1701
  • Captain Porteous, 1736
  • Lord Lovat,1747
  • Eugene Aram, 1759
  • Douglas Cause, 1761-1769
  • Abraham Thornton, 1817
  • Thutell and Hunt, 1824
  • William Palmer, 1856
  • Dr. Smethurst, 1859
  • Dr. Pritchard, 1865
  • Stauntons, 1877
  • Kate Webster, 1879
  • George Henry Lamson, 1882
  • John Watson Laurie (Arran Murder), 1889
  • Baccat Case, 1891
  • A.J. Monson, 1893
  • George Chapman, 1903
  • Oscar Alater, 1909-1928
  • John Alexander Dickman, 1910
  • Seddons, 1912
  • Sir Roger Casement, 1916
  • Bywaters and Thompson, 1922
  • Herbert Rowse Armstrong, 1922
  • John Donald Merrett, 1927
  • F.G. Browne & W.H. Kennedy, 1928
  • Alfred Arthur Rouse, 1931

University of Wisconsin, Madison Law Library
Microfiche: KD370.N6 1984

Parker, James, 1729-?. The Parker Family Papers, 1760-1795
Yorkshire, England: Micro Methods, 1964
Microfilm: E195.P36 (4 reels)

Parsons, Robert, 1546-1610. The Judgement of a Catholicke English-Man Living in Banishment for his Religion (1608)
Gainsville, FL: Scholar's Facsimilies and Reprints, 1957
Microfiche: BR757.P37 1608

United States. Department of State Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of Great Britain, 1910-1929
Washington: National Archives
Microfilm: DA556.7.U53 (reels 1-5, 51-96)

Women's History in Great Britain

Sex and Sexuality 1640-1940
Part 1 - Sources from the Bodleian Library Oxford (15 reels)
Part 2 - Romantic Friendships and Lesbian Relationships in Literature and History (20 reels)
Part 3 - Erotica 1657-1889, From the Private Case Collection at the British Library
Part 4 - Erotica 1890-1908, From the Private Case Collection at the British Library
(Parts 3 and 4: 38 reels)
Microfilm: HQ75.5.S483 2003
Guides: HQ 75.5.S482 2003 (parts 2-4)

Women Advising Women
Adam Matthew Publications
Part 1: Early Women's Journals c1700-1832 from the Bodleian Library, Oxford
Part 2: Advice Books, Manuals, Almanacs and Journals, c1625-1837 from the Bodleian Library
Part 3: Lady's Magazine 1770-1800
Part 4: Lady's Magazine 1801-1832
Part 5: Women's Writing and Advice c1450-1770
Part 6: Household Management Domestic Economy, c1600-1800
Part 7: Sources from the Women's Library
Microfilm: HQ1593.W55 1992 (136 reels)
Guide: Micro HQ 1593.W55 1992

Women and Victorian Values, 1837-1910 Advice Books, Manuals, and Journals for Women
Parts 1-4
Sources from the Bodeleian Library, Oxford
Adam Matthew Publications
Microfilm: HQ1593.W557 (80 reels)
Guide: Micro HQ1593.W557 Pt. 1-4

Women and Victorian Values, 1837-1910 Advice Books, Manuals, and Journals for Women
Parts 5-6
Sources from the Bodeleian Library, Oxford
Adam Matthew Publications
Microfilm: HQ1593.W557 (40 reels)
Guide: Micro HQ1593.W557 Pt. 5-6

Women's Languages and Experiences: (1500-1940) Women's Diaries and Realted Sources
Part 1: Sources from the Bedforshire and Herforshire Record Offices (15 reels)
Part 2: Sources from Birmingham Central Library and Birmingham University Library (24 reels)
Part 3: Sources from Suffolk County Record Office and Cambridge University Library (25 reels)
Part 4: Sourcesfrom the National Library of Scotland and the National Library of Wales
Part 5: Sources from the Essex Record Office (20 reels)
Adam Matthew Publications
Microfilm: HQ1583.W66 1994
Guide: Micro HQ1583.W66 1994 (pts. 1-4)

Great Britain and Foreign Relations

Great Britain. Foreign Office. British Foreign Office. Japan Correspondence:
Part 1, 1856-1905.
Wilmington, DE:  Scholarly Resources, Inc. 1975.
Microfilm: DA47.9.J3.A4 (146 reels)

Great Britain.  Foreign Office.  Russia:  Correspondence, 1781-1945.
Wilmington, DE:  Scholarly Resources Inc., 1975-1976.
Microfilm: DA47.65.G74 1904-1905, 1914-1940 (649 reels)
Guide: Micro DA47.65.G75 1883-1945

Great Britain.  Foreign Office.  Russia:  Correspondence, 1901-1903: Growth of the Revolutionary Movement.
Wilmington, DE:  Scholarly Resources Inc.
Microfilm: DA47.65.B75

Great Britain. British Foreign Office - Russian Correspondence
Wilmington, DEL: Scholarly Resources, 1981
Microfilm: DA47.65.G74 (983 Reels)
Guides: Micro DA47.65.G47 1883-1940
Micro DA47.65.G47 1941-45
Micro DA47.65.G47 1946-48

Great Britain.  Foreign Office.  Denmark:  the Schleswig-Holstein Question.
Liechtenstein:  Kraus-Thomson Organization Limited, 1976.
Microfilm: DD491.S68G6 (15 reels)

Oriental Question, 1840-1900: Files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
University Publications of America, 1989
Microfilm: D376.G7 L47 1989 (38 reels)