Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Graduate Students

New Faculty Book Funds Program

The University Libraries offer a Collection Development book allocation program to provide additional funds to newly hired full-time faculty. These funds provide each eligible faculty member with a one-time award of up to $1,000 to order new books or media for the permanent collection during their first year at the University (awards will be dependent on available funds and the number of new eligible faculty). The funds cannot be used for journals, subscriptions, or items with recurring costs.

A complete request list, within the announced funding amount, should be submitted via email, e.g. an excel or worksheet file list, by January 31st  to the Libraries Subject Liaison representing your department (please see list below). Award submissions will only be accepted from September to January 31 of the specified school year. This year’s funds will cover full-time faculty hired during the 2022 calendar year, as represented in the fall new faculty orientation guide.

For more information contact your Rob Tench (ftench@odu.edu).

Eligible Materials

Among items that are eligible are: monographs and scholarly books; rare or out-of-print books; microform and microfilm collections; as well as video, DVD, CD-ROMs, and other electronic media.  Items NOT eligible for funding are course release, salary, equipment, software, databases, journals or travel expenses.

We encourage applicants to bundle multiple items in a single application, provided they all serve the same purpose of furthering a particular faculty research or creative program. Applicants must prioritize individual items to assist in cases when the grant award is unable to fully fund the requested materials. Keep in mind that it may be necessary for the Committee to ask applicants making a larger request if there are ways to reduce costs so the Committee can at least partially meet an applicants’ need.

Collection Liaisons

For every department on campus, there is a library liaison within the department, and there is a bibliographer in the library to assist with managing the collections for that discipline.

Subject Area -- Specialist/Collection Librarian -- Email -- Phone (683-)

  • Accounting -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Art -- Gay Acompanado -- gacompan -- -5632
  • Biological Sciences -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Chemistry & Biochemistry -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Civil & Environmental Engineering -- Rob Tench -- ftench -- -4144
  • Communication -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Communication Disorders/Special Educ -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Community & Environmental Health -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Computational Modeling & Simulation Engineering -- Tonia Graves -- tgraves -- -4188
  • Computer Science -- Tonia Graves -- tgraves -- -4188
  • Counseling & Human Services -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Criminal Justice -- Dot Lockaby -- dlockaby -- -4183
  • Cybersecurity -- Dot Lockaby -- dlockaby -- -4183
  • Dance -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Dental Hygiene -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Economics -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Educational Foundations & Leadership -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering -- Stuart Frazer -- sfrazer -- -4143
  • Engineering Management & Systems -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Engineering Technology -- Rob Tench -- ftench -- -4144
  • Finance, Insurance & Real Estate -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Foreign Languages -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Geography -- Dot Lockaby -- dlockaby -- -4183
  • History -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Human Movement Sciences -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Humanities -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Information Technology/Decision Sci -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • International Studies -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Journalism -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Law -- Dot Lockaby -- dlockaby -- -4183
  • Linguistics -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Literature -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Management -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Marketing -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Mathematical & Statistic Sciences -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering -- Dot Lockaby -- dlockaby -- -4183
  • Medical Diagnostic & Translational Sci -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Music -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Nursing -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Ocean, Earth, Atmospheric Sciences -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Philosophy & Religion -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Physics -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Political Science -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Psychology -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • Rehabilitation Sciences (PT/AT) -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908
  • School of Public Service -- Miriam Bridges -- mbridges -- -4169
  • Sociology -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • STEM Education & Professional Studies -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Teaching & Learning -- Karen Centeno -- kcenteno -- 5490
  • Theater Arts -- Elizabeth Hogue -- ehogue -- -4131
  • Women's Studies -- Joleen McInnis -- jwesterd -- -5908

 

 

The ODU Libraries participate in a few consortia that allow us to share resources and services.

title
Loading...
chat loading...