Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty & Graduate Students

Faculty Research Grant Program

On behalf of the ODU Libraries’ Collection Development Committee, we are pleased to invite proposals for the new  Libraries Research Grant Program pilot. The University Libraries seeks to play a vital role in supporting the research and scholarly work of full-time ODU faculty. Our intent is to fund a breadth of applications from across campus with a mini-grant program.

We anticipate having $50,000 available to fund several mini-grants for the 2021-2022 academic year. The grants are not meant to fund course release, salary, equipment, software, multiple copies of the same work, or travel expenses. Its primary purpose is to support the research and creative work of faculty with new library acquisitions accessible for the whole ODU community. Please refer to your Library Collection Liaison or the Collection Development Policy with additional questions.

The committee will prioritize the funding of applicants who are tenure-earning and applications that focus on how the materials will enhance specific research programs and creative activities of faculty members. Applications focused primarily on the use of materials for instructional purposes or general collection development are welcomed; however, funding of non-research/creative applications will be of secondary priority. For further details about eligible items and application instructions please see application guidelines and instructions, which are available below on this guide.

The fall application deadline below has been set to give the library staff the necessary time to acquire materials before the end of the fiscal year.

Application deadline:     December 31, 2021

Awards announced:        February 2022

If you have any questions, please contact the Collection Development Coordinator, James Rhoades at jrhoades@odu.edu.

Faculty Research Grant Guidelines

Application Deadline: December 31, 2021 (Application link is provided at the bottom of this page.)

The Libraries’ Collection Development Committee is pleased to invite applications for the Libraries Research Grant Program. The mini-grants (typically in the range of $500-10,000) are designed to, first and foremost, facilitate original research through the acquisition of library materials to strengthen ODU's resources. The goal of the Committee is to fund a breadth of applications from across campus.

The primary purpose of the Libraries Resource Grant is to support the research and creative work of tenure earning or tenured faculty with new library acquisitions accessible for the whole ODU community. The committee will prioritize the funding of applications that focus on how the materials will enhance specific research programs and creative activities of faculty members. Applications focused primarily on the use of materials for instructional purposes or general collection development are welcomed; however, funding of non-research/creative applications will be of secondary priority.

Eligible Materials

Among items that are eligible are: monographs and scholarly books; rare or out-of-print books; microform and microfilm collections; as well as video, DVD, CD-ROMs, and other electronic media.  Items NOT eligible for funding are course release, salary, equipment, software, databases, journals or travel expenses.

We encourage applicants to bundle multiple items in a single application, provided they all serve the same purpose of furthering a particular faculty research or creative program. Applicants must prioritize individual items to assist in cases when the grant award is unable to fully fund the requested materials. Keep in mind that it may be necessary for the Committee to ask applicants making a larger request if there are ways to reduce costs so the Committee can at least partially meet an applicants’ need.

Letter of Support

Applicants are required to obtain their Libraries Subject Liaison’s letter of support at least one week before the deadline of December 31st. Applicants must consult with their Collection Liaison about which items may or may not be eligible, or whether items can be acquired through the funding mechanisms provided for by the Libraries Research Grant Program.

 The following library faculty are available to help with consultation and questions on your grant applications:

• For general questions and consultation, your library subject liaison can serve as a contact.  

                • For rare book materials or items which may be housed in the Libraries’ Special Collections,  contact Head of Special    Collections listed on subject liaison link.

The ability to purchase materials, data sets, or rare books, may be contingent upon the availability of the materials and/or the ability to successfully negotiate purchasing agreements. An initial review will only determine the feasibility of obtaining a product, with some products requiring negotiations and Legal Counsel review before a purchase can be completed. If a Libraries Research Grant is awarded and these guidelines cannot be met, the Libraries will consult with the applicant to try to find a suitable alternative product within the allocated amount.

Matching

The committee strongly encourages faculty members with access to matching funds (through their units or other funding) to provide information about such funds in their application. Matching funds may improve the chances of funding through this mini-grant program if the committee receives more applications than it can approve with the funds available.

Screening Criteria

The following must be fulfilled for an application to receive full consideration:

                • The application must be complete (e.g., all requested information is provided on the cover        sheet and relevant attachments).

• The application does not request disallowed materials. (The requested materials are not currently available for ongoing use through the ODU Libraries. The requested materials are not readily available or adequately usable on free and open access websites.) 

                • The application, where appropriate, prioritizes items according to their scholarly or creative      importance.

Evaluation

The following are the principal criteria the Committee will use to evaluate applications:

                • Scholarly coherence of the application (e.g., does the applicant justify the value of the proposed materials for a specific research or creative undertaking?).

                • Likelihood that requested material will facilitate original scholarship and creative projects.

                • Likelihood that the requested materials will facilitate future scholarly or creative undertakings by faculty, graduate students, undergraduates and other members of the University community.

                • The requested materials should strengthen ODU’s holdings in a particular field.

                • The material must be able to be located within the library and accessible to others in the wider               ODU community.

                • The requested materials are not procurable through other active grants.

                • The application is supported with matching funds.

                • The application meets the requirements stipulated in the “Eligible Materials” above.

Because funds for these research-oriented grants are limited, the Committee will give priority to applications from faculty in the order that follows:

                1. Untenured, Tenure-Track Assistant Professors

                2. Associate and Full Professors

                3. Specialized Faculty Application

Instructions

Applications must include the following items:

                1. A completed application with this Qualtrics form, which includes a narrative of no more than   one page, in a typeface no smaller than 12 pt., that explains the              relevance of the requested          materials to the applicant’s specific scholarly or creative project.

                2. A brief statement of support from your library subject liaison (for applicants this would              be your department's library subject liaison). If you do not know who this individual would be,     please consult the Collections Liaisons. (This statement will essentially state that the librarian   has reviewed and endorses the proposal. The letter must be submitted by the December 31st              deadline, so please allow enough time to consult with your librarian.)

 

Note: If you have a simple, informative ad that succinctly describes the materials you are requesting, you may forward it to your Collection Liaison. Please submit all application materials in the following Qualtrics form. The Committee expects to announce awards by the end of February 2022.