PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Click here to view How To guides from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Simultaneously searches the EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all seven databases.)
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. The editors of ACP Journal Club screen top clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract and a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice are also provided.
Provides a comprehensive survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics.
ASCE Standards are now indexed in Compendex.
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports, and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Click here to view short videos to see how to quickly search and retrieve the most relevant engineering research information available. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1950-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title. Tips to improve your search on Web of Science are provided here.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts is now merged into the Biological Science Collection and is no longer its own database. To access it, go to the Biological Science Collection.
1982 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Biotechnology & BioEngineering Database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments, and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental, and marine biology. Biotechnology Abstracts and Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts has ceased and is now archived with Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts.