Founded in 1979, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines. AAAI aims to promote research in, and responsible use of, artificial intelligence. AAAI also aims to increase public understanding of artificial intelligence, improve the teaching and training of AI practitioners, and provide guidance for research planners and funders concerning the importance and potential of current AI developments and future directions.
CRA’s mission is to enhance innovation by joining with industry, government and academia to strengthen research and advanced education in computing. CRA executes this mission by leading the computing research community, informing policymakers and the public, and facilitating the development of strong, diverse talent in the field. Includes a For Students section containing information of special interest to undergraduate and graduate students in computing.
The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology. Serving more than 60,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the trusted information, networking, and career-development source for a global community of technology leaders that includes researchers, educators, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. ODU has a student chapter. A Facebook page for students is available for students to "like" and stay updated on IEEE Computer Society student activities.
ODU's student chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery, an organization that promotes both networking and collaboration amongst students and professionals in technology fields. There is no membership fee to participate as an ACM Member, and the club is open to all majors.
From the SISO website: "The Simulation Interoperability Standards Organization (SISO) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion of modeling and simulation interoperability and reuse for the benefit of a broad range of M&S communities."
From the Society website: "SCS is the world’s premier professional society devoted to modeling and simulation (M&S). We serve individuals and organizations in more than 150 countries around the world. Our membership includes individuals from industry, government, and academia whose interests span all aspects of M&S."
A division of the Argonne National Laboratory, MCS provides intellectual and technical leadership in the computing sciences ‐ applied mathematics, computer science, and computational science. They have initiatives in four key areas: extreme computing, data-intensive science, applied mathematics, and science and engineering applications. In addition to their world-class research, they provide access to some of the fastest, most powerful computer systems in the world: systems that are enabling scientists to tackle problems previously considered infeasible.
A National Science Foundation research area, CISE supports investigator initiated research in all areas of computer and information science and engineering, fosters broad interdisciplinary collaboration, helps develop and maintain cutting-edge national computing and information infrastructure for research and education, and contributes to the development of a computer and information technology workforce with skills essential for success in the increasingly competitive global market.
The Computational Research Division of the Berkeley Lab conducts research and development in mathematical modeling and simulation, algorithm design, data storage, management and analysis, computer system architecture and high-performance software implementation. Their products range from peer-reviewed scientific publications to scientific research codes to end-to-end computational and data analysis capabilities that enable scientists and engineers to address complex and large-scale technical challenges.
The Charles Babbage Institute (CBI) is an archives and research center dedicated to preserving the history of information technology and promoting and conducting research in the field located at the University of Minnesota. The CBI collects, preserves and provides access to rich archival collections and rare publications documenting the history of information technology.
The Computing Research Repository (CoRR) is part of the arXiv e-print service, which is owned and operated by Cornell University. CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of the community at no charge.
This collection contains digitized copies of audio and video interviews conducted with mathematicians by Eugene Dynkin. It also contains biographical information and photos of these prominent mathematicians.