Skip to main content

Graduate Student Library Introduction

Monarch OneSearch

Monarch OneSearch is the only place to search for books and other print materials at the ODU Libraries. For graduate students, it is a great place to start your research, but for in-depth research you'll probably want to use some of our databases. 

True or False: Monarch OneSearch is the ONLY thing I'll need to use for research as a graduate student.
True: 3 votes (12.5%)
False: 21 votes (87.5%)
Total Votes: 24

To Search by Topic

1. Enter your topic into the Monarch OneSearch (the main search box on the Libraries' homepage)

2. Select Resources, then Books

3. Check availability, check out, start reading!

 

To Find Books by Author

1. Select Advanced Search

2. Select "in the title" or "author"

3. Enter the title or author and search

PRO TIP: If we don't have what you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan!

Multiple Choice - Who can help facilitate the delivery of an article that ODU Libraries' doesn't have full text access to?
Circulation Services: 1 votes (5.88%)
Interlibrary Loan: 15 votes (88.24%)
Help Desk: 1 votes (5.88%)
Special Collections: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 17

All of the libraries video resources -- whether DVDs at the Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of Perry Library or streaming video from library databases -- are available through our online catalog.

Search Monarch OneSearch by title, actor, director, etc. To the left of the results list, in "Resource Type," click to limit to "Audio Visual."

See our in-depth help guide for more help with Monarch OneSearch!

 

FAQs

How do I renew books online?

To renew books online or to check to see when your books are due, select the "Advanced Search" link below the Monarch OneSearch box on the library homepage, select "My Account," and log in with your MIDAS information.

Does Monarch OneSearch find resources from all of the library databases?

Yes. However, we recommend using the subject specific databases for in-depth research or specific types of resarch.

I had an account set up in the (Ebsco) Discovery Tool. How can I access it?

You can still access your Ebsco Account by accessing an Ebsco database via the Databases A-Z list and logging in from there. Everything that you saved will still be there.