Skip to main content

Graduate Student Library Introduction

Databases

What is a database? Merriam-Webster defines a database as a usually large collection of data organized especially for rapid search and retrieval. Encyclopedia Britannica defines a database as any collection of data, or information, that is specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer.

Databases usually contain citations of articles from academic and/or popular journals and newspapers. Databases can cover many different subject areas, known as a multidisciplinary database, or restrict content covering one specific discipline, known as subject specific databases.

Take a look at the tabs to the right to explore examples of each!

The ODU Libraries provide access to over 300 subject-specific and multidisciplinary databases. Our databases include various formats, including:

  • Peer-reviewed research articles
  • Streaming Video
  • Images
  • Historical Newspapers
  • Current News
  • & much more!

We encourage you to explore our full list of databases by using our Databases A-Z list and the Research Guides for your subject area.

JSTOR is an example of a:
Multidisciplinary Database: 9 votes (75%)
Subject Focused Database: 3 votes (25%)
Total Votes: 12
In American's Historcal Newspapers, I can find:
Text from historcal newspapers: 5 votes (41.67%)
Scanned images of historical newspapers: 7 votes (58.33%)
Total Votes: 12
For peer-reviewed reserach articles in nursing, the best database to search is:
Academic Search Complete: 5 votes (33.33%)
CINHAL: 9 votes (60%)
Mental Measurements Yearbook: 1 votes (6.67%)
Total Votes: 15