LibGuides: Graduate Research in the Sciences: Searching for Science Sources

Find Research Articles in the Sciences

Subject-specific Research Guides

Databases for Science Disciplines

Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.
ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.
Engineering Village
1884 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968), Inspec (1969-present), and Inspec backfile (1896-1968) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical, and engineering disciplines. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work. Access Engineering Village tutorial videos to view short videos on how to quickly search and retrieve the most relevant engineering research available.

Websites for Science Disciplines

SciTech Connect
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators.
arXiv.org
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.

Find Library Resources

Finding Print Books and Electronic Books in ODU Libraries

Use Monarch OneSearch on the Library Homepage at odu.edu/library to search for books and ebooks owned by ODU Libraries. Limit your search to Books to avoid retrieving media, articles, and other resources.

Books Held by Other Libraries

Use WorldCat to find titles of books held in other libraries worldwide. If you identify a book that is not owned by ODU Libraries, use our interlibrary loan (ILL) service to request that we borrow it for your use.

WorldCat
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

Electronic Books

ODU Libraries subscribe to collections of ebooks in many disciplines. The two below contain a great deal of content in the sciences.

SpringerLINK
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals and individual documents in the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) fields. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996. Includes the former Kluwer Journals Online.
Wiley Online Library
2007-Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to journals, online books, and reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Reference Works

Reference resources can be very useful to gain a better understanding of a topic as you begin research, and to identify keywords and concepts in the discipline.
There are online encyclopedias and handbooks in almost every field like the examples below. You can search Monarch OneSearch for others in your subject.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Available online, and in print
Handbook of biochemistry and molecular biology
Multiple versions.

Dissertations

Finding dissertations on your topic can be useful in many ways. They can help develop your literature review, review research methodology, and identify relevant research. You can use these databases to find dissertations by subject.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
1743 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
WorldCat
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.