Skip to Main Content

International Students Guide

This is a guide to provide Information and Resources for ODU International students.

Help Desk

The Perry Library Help Desk  is your first line of help in the Library. Contact us with any questions you may have. If we don't know the answers, we can direct you to someone who does. You can contact us:

In Person:
Feel free to come to the Perry Library Help Desk
 on the main floor of the library to ask for help!

Phone:
The Perry Library Help Desk
 can be contacted by phone at (757) 683-4178 Help Desk hours.

ODU LIbraries Chat

This service is intended for use by ODU students, faculty and staff. Use the chat box on the right side of the library webpage for assistance. No special software is required. Just start typing in the ODU Library Chat. You can use your smart phone to chat with a reference librarian.

 

Ask a Librarian

This service is designed primarily to answer short, fact-based reference questions for registered students, staff, or faculty of Old Dominion University or questions from the public about ODU. Emails may take 1-2 business days to get routed to the correct librarian.

 

 

 

Request a Research Consultation

Research Consultation is an opportunity for ODU students, faculty, and staff to get in-depth assistance with library research. If you are beginning your research for a term paper or thesis, or if you are having difficulty finding information on a particular topic, you may want to schedule an appointment. It allows you some uninterrupted time with a librarian to discuss appropriate resources and possible strategies for the topic. An appointment can run anywhere from a half hour to an hour depending on the complexity of the question. This service is limited to registered students, faculty and staff of Old Dominion University.

 

Meet your Librarian

Subject Specialists

Subjects

  • Arts (Visual): Gay Acompanado
  • Arts (Performing):  Elizabeth Hogue
  • Business:  Miriam Bridges
  • Education:  Karen Centeno
  • Engineering: Vacant (Contact Dot Lockaby)
  • General Education/ Multidisciplinary:  Travis Jones
  • Health Sciences:  Joleen McInnis
  • Humanities:  Elizabeth Hogue
  • Information Literacy/ Multidisciplinary: Lucy Wittkower
  • Life Sciences:  Joleen McInnis
  • Physical Sciences:  Vacant (Contact Dot Lockaby)
  • Research and Publishing Support: Karen Vaughan
  • Social Sciences: Dot Lockaby (Interim)
  • Special Collections: Jessica Ritchie
  • University Archives:  Steve Bookman

How Can We Help?

Our subject specialists can assist you with research, teaching, ordering resources, publishing, and more. We can help via email, phone, or virtual or in-person appointment.

 

Gay Acompanado

Gay Acompanado

Art Specialist

Elise N. Hofheimer Art Library, Barry Arts Bldg.
gacompan@odu.edu
757-683-5632

Gay's Library Guides

 

Steve Bookman

University Archivist

Perry Library, Special Collections & University Archives
sbookman@odu.edu
757-683-5910

Steve's Library Guides

 

Miriam Bridges

Business Librarian

Perry Library
mbridges@odu.edu
757-683-4169

Miriam's Library Guides

 

Karen Centeno

Karen Centeno

Education Librarian

Perry Library
kcenteno@odu.edu
757-683-5490

Karen's Library Guides

 

Elizabeth Hogue

Elizabeth Hogue

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Perry Library
ehogue@odu.edu
757-683-4131

Elizabeth's Library Guides

 

Travis Jones

Travis Jones

Undergraduate Success Librarian

Perry Library
tljones@odu.edu
757-683-4150

Travis's Library Guides

 

Lucy Wittkower

Dot Lockaby

Interim Librarian for Social Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

Perry Library
dlockaby@odu.edu
757 683-4183

Dot Lockaby's Library Guides

 

 

 

 

Joleen McInnis

Joleen McInnis

Health and Life Sciences Librarian

Perry Library
jwesterd@odu.edu
757-683-5908

Joleen's Library Guides

 

Jessica Ritchie

Jessica Ritchie

Head, Special Collections & University Archives

Perry Library, Special Collections & University Archives
jhritchi@odu.edu
757-683-4483

Jessica's Library Guides

 

Karen Vaughan

Karen Vaughan

Head, Scholarly Communication & Publishing

Perry Library, 4000
kvaughan@odu.edu
757-683-4184

Karen's Library Guides

 

Lucy Wittkower

Lucy Wittkower

Head, Teaching & Learning Initiatives

Perry Library
lrush@odu.edu
757 683-5909

Lucy's Library Guides

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a great service for graduate students. Through ILL you can:

  • Borrow physical materials (aka books, dissertations, and other stuff) that the ODU Libraries does not own from another library
  • Get articles that the ODU Libraries does not have access to in PDF format
  • Distance student? You can have books that the ODU libraries DOES own mailed directly to your doorstep. That's right! 
  • ALL free of charge!!!
title
Loading...
chat loading...