PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Click here to view How To guides from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
"EuPathDB (formerly ApiDB) is an integrated database covering the eukaryotic pathogens in the genera listed in our data summary page." (From the Database). The Data Summary page: https://eupathdb.org/eupathdb/showApplication.do
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database.
MEDLINE on this service contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts is now merged into the Biological Science Collection and is no longer its own database. To access it, go to the Biological Science Collection.
1982 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Biotechnology & BioEngineering Database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments, and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental, and marine biology. Biotechnology Abstracts and Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts has ceased and is now archived with Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts.
Includes a broad selection of the full-text, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies, focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne.1 has over eighty publications, most of which are ISI ranked and available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 through JSTOR. BioOne.2 offers a new, diverse group of journals, many of which are internationally based and have not been available online until now.
Provides the widest possible perspective of genetics as a whole, from microbes to plants to humans. The field of molecular genetics is emphasized, with important information on all aspects of DNA, differentiation and development, RNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, nuclear proteins and chromatin, enzymes, and gene regulation.
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1950-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title. Tips to improve your search on Web of Science are provided here.
Use as a last resort, not a first, and if you DO decide to use scholar, please make sure you go into your settings and update library links to reflect ODU Libraries, so you will at least be directed to resources that we have, instead of the more likely event of being directed to a resource and then be invited to pay to view an article for 48 hours. (PS Don't do that; we have ILL for that exact purpose.)