Skip to main content

PHIL 230E - Introduction to Ethics

This guide is a tool to help students in Lauren Eichler's PHIL230e course locate research materials for their final paper.

Video Resources

All of the libraries video resources -- whether DVDs at the Help Desk on the 1st floor of Perry Library or streaming video from library databases -- are available through our online catalog.

Search Monarch OneSearch by title, actor, director, etc.  In "Resource Type," limit to "Audio Visual."

Visit the library homepage at odu.edu/library to find Monarch OneSearch.

The Libraries have a DVD collection of feature films and documentaries with over 1,000 titles.  The majority of the DVDs are available at the Help Desk in Perry Library for checkout.  

  • The loan period for films is one week.
  • You may check out up to three films at a time.

Use Monarch OneSearch, and search by film title, actor, director, etc.
Limit your search to "Audio Visual" as the "Material Type."

Monarch OneSearch

To browse the Feature Film Collection, do an Advanced Search:

  • search for:  "feature film collection"
  • limit your search by "Material Type" - "Audio Visual" or "Video"
  • [optional] limit your search by "Publication Date" or "Language"

The Libraries subscribe to many video databases. 

Films on Demand

  • To link to a full video:  Once you find a video, open the full page. Find the TITLE URL at the bottom of the page. Copy and paste the link into your presentation or course Blackboard web page. 
  • To link to a video segment:  find the segments listed on the right of the video window, and click one. Find the SEGMENT URL at the bottom of the page.  Copy and paste the link into your presentation or course Blackboard page.
  • To connect to the films/segments from offcampus, the following prefix should come before the Films on Demand url:
    • http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=

Alexander Street Press Videos

  • To link to videos: Once you identify a video, click on the "Embed/Link" icon at the top of the video playback display.  A new window will open displaying a persistent URL and an embed code for the video. Copy and paste into your presentation or course Blackboard web page.
  • To connect to the films/segments from offcampus, the following prefix should come before the Alexander Street Press url:
    • http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=  

example: http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/behavioral-counseling-and-psychotherapy

  • You may notice that there is also an option to embed the video.

As a member of the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA), the ODU Libraries provide access to a comprehensive collection of outstanding video programming from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). The collection contains 311 titles in 498 program segments varying from 30 minutes to 1 hour in length. Due to licensing restrictions access is limited to currently registered ODU faculty, staff and students or faculty, staff and students from other Virginia higher education institutions.

These are a few of the video sources on the open Web. Remember to always read the Terms of Use and be sure you are not violating copyright.