LibGuides: HLTH 120G: Information Literacy for Health Professions: Find Journal Articles

Discipline-Specific Databases

ODU Libraries support the use of a browser extension called LibKey Nomad that links directly from PubMed and other databases to electronic journals ODU Libraries subscribe to. This browser extension will help you determine whether we have the journal you need and give you the link to find it. Go to this guide for the link and instructions on how to download and install LibKey Nomad.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1937 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
1966 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Covers the dental literature, including general and pediatric dentistry, endodontics, odontology, dental public health, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, and periodontology. The Journal of Dental Research is full text back to 1919.
Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
PsycINFO
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide (PDF – Links to an external source may not be accessible) for help using the database.
PubMed
Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
1800 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.

Consumer Health Databases

Consumer Health Complete
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.