Skip to main content

Guide to Music Special Collections

Clarence W. Walton: Biography

Clarence W. Walton was born in 1918 and grew up in Monroe, North Carolina. He attended Louisburg College and the University of North Carolina. Walton arrived in Norfolk, Virginia in October of 1941 and joined the staff of the The Ledger-Star (then the Ledger-Dispatch), where he was a reporter, state editor, and city editor. In 1953 he became the radio-TV editor and in 1957 began producing a Television Guide section. His interest in broadcasting led him to hosting "The World of Jazz" on WRVC-FM for fourteen years. He also hosted "Jazz Americana" on WLOW, and a WCPK, Chesapeake, weekly hour-long radio program of music, especially jazz, from the 1920s to the 1950s. For the last twelve years he had been on the staff of The Virginian-Pilot, where he held the position of special sections editor and Sunday editor.

Walton was married to the former Aline Frances Hatchell. They had two sons, Allan Wayne and Richard Willis, and a daughter, Cynthia Louise. He died September 6, 1978.

Clarence W. Walton Record Collection: Scope and Contents

The Clarence W. Walton Record Collection contains approximately 6,000 45rpm, 78rpm, and 33 1/3rpm recordings of jazz and show tunes from the 1920s through the early 1970s.

Clarence W. Walton Record Collection: Administrative

Provenance

The Clarence W. Walton Record Collection was donated by Mrs. Clarence W. (Aline) Walton to Old Dominion University in 1980. It was housed in the Diehn Composers Room in 1997.

Access and Borrowing Materials

This collection is available for research in the Diehn Composers Room, only. Staff will not make copies of materials, due to copyright restrictions which protect sound recordings until 2067.

The Walton Collection includes 45rpm and 78rpm records. Long-play records are cataloged under the title "Clarence W. Walton Record Collection" in the Libraries' online catalog and are interfiled with the Diehn Composers Room's general LP collection. To search the online catalog of the Old Dominion University Libraries, click here.

Size

Number of shelves: approximately 14.25 (5.75 for 78rpm; 8.50 for 45rpm)
Size: approximately 42 linear ft. (23.25 linear ft. for 78rpm; 18.75 linear ft. for 45rpm)

Collection Numeration

None; uncataloged recordings are shelved as the "Walton Collection."

Status

No further donations are anticipated.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Clarence W. Walton Record Collection, Old Dominion University, Diehn Composers Room, Diehn Fine and Performing Arts Center, Norfolk, Virginia.

Publication Rights

[Copyright has not been assigned to the University Library. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to the University Librarian. Permission for publication is given on behalf of the University Library as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by the reader.]

Sample

Browse the Collection by Artist