LibGuides: Graduate Research In Education: Publishing

Journal Information Databases

Cabells
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Journalytics Academic includes a curated list of journals covering 18 disciplines in business, education, health, computer science, psychology and psychiatry, and sciences. Find metrics about where a journal falls within a discipline, acceptance rates, peer review processes, and altmetric attention. Use the Predatory Reports listing to find details about why a particular journal is considered predatory.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
1997 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
This analysis tool summarizes citations from science and social science journals and proceedings in the Web of Science database. Key features allow you to review journal titles and key performance indicators in specific subject categories, identify journals in which to publish your research, recognize trending journals in various subject categories, and evaluate the performance of journals in which you or your organization has published research.
Teacher Reference Center
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Websites and Resources

Virginia Education Organizations
Most professional organizations have some type of publication. Check the organization in your subject area to find out the scope of their publication & how to submit an article for review.
Read, Write, Think
Accepts classroom-tested, evidenced-based lesson plans & strategy guides. Pays a small stipend & offers author pages to regular contributors.
Academia.edu
This is a place to share your work & follow others with similar expertise. You'll see papers on topics that you are interested in, which will give you ideas of where to publish.
Open Access Jornals in Educational Technology
Borrowed from Royal Lands University Library.

Publisher Journal Finders

Scams

Sadly, there are scam publishers out there. Use these resources to help you check the validity of a publisher.

Scholarly OA
Critical analysis of open access publishers.

Dissertation into a book

Publishing a dissertation into a book
This guide contains all kinds of useful information about writing and publishing a book based on your dissertation. Borrowed from Royal Roads University.

After You Publish

Track citations of your work & share with others!

Academia.edu
Set up a profile in Academia.edu to share your work.

More tips

Sign up for Listservs in your subject areas
Talk to faculty & colleagues
Beware of publishing scams- they are out there.
Check out your own references. If you see the same journals appearing over & over, chances are you may want to publish there.

Sharing Your Dissertation

ERIC

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a government database that is freely accessible online. Submitting your dissertation to ERIC will make it more discoverable and accessible both in ERIC and GoogleScholar. See the ERIC website to learn more. http://eric.ed.gov/

Scholarly OA
Critical analysis of scholarly OA publishing.

Graduate Research In Education