LibGuides: MKTG 428: Marketing of Services: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the MKTG 428 course guide. This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for your class assignments.

For one-on-one research help, contact me at mbridges@odu.edu to set up an individual research consultation via Zoom.

Articles - National and Local

Access World News
1996 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides unique coverage of local and regional newspapers, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Regional Business News
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection
1971-present (Restricted to ODU)
Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics periodicals. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Industry/Market Research Reports

IBISWorld
1. Search for an industry in the search box in the middle of the page
2. Once in the report, select the Major Companies tab for market share.
Mergent Intellect
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A premier global private company database. Includes approximately 243 million global records both active/inactive companies, enhanced global executives list, and ability to locate surrounding companies based on latitude and longitude searches.

Company Profile

To find profiles and other information about a company, such as its history, product lines, customer base, management team, strategy, and competitors, use the following resources.

Keep in mind additional information can be found in the company's 10-K, the annual report all US public companies have to file with the SEC.

Nexis Uni (Business)
1. At the Company Dossier box, click on Find A Company
2. Search by Company name or Ticker symbol
more...less...
1. At the Company Dossier box, click on Find A Company
2. Search by Company name or Ticker symbol
Norfolk Public Library - Databases & Learning Resources
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) - Virginia Beach Public Library
BuzzFile Basic
USA Spending
Federal Awards

Demographic Resources

Social Explorer
Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present

Census Data
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
VirginiaLMI (Labor Market Information)
These documents feature a wealth of information including demographic, economic, and educational data. Each report is automatically updated every time we make changes to our database, so you can be assured they will always be up-to-date!
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Go to the "Internet & Tech" tab for data about internet and social media use among different demographic groups.
more...less...
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Go to the "Internet & Tech" tab for data about internet and social media use among different demographic groups.
Bureau Labor of Statistics - Occupation