In collaboration with the Department of History, Old Dominion University Libraries is pleased to host this resource guide to correspond with a series of events throughout this academic year designed to commemorate and address World War I and its history and legacy, called “Remembering World War I: A Hundredth Anniversary Commemoration.” The centenary of 1914 is of significant interest throughout Europe and the world, of course, and an opportunity for public discussion and classroom instruction.
1450 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
1955 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1955 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
1914-1919 (Restricted to ODU)
An archival research resource containing rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Contains periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover, in full colour or greyscale, and with granular indexing of all articles and specialist indexing of Publications.