Oceanography

1981 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships and shipping, and marine biology.

As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.

Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database. Helpful SciFinder-n FAQs provided at this link.

1967 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.

1960 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.

1884 - present (Restricted to ODU)
ASCE Standards are now indexed in Compendex.
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports, and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. View short videos to see how to quickly search and retrieve the most relevant engineering research information available. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.

1693 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

1896 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.

Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to some of the Nature Publishing Group (NPG) resources in biological and physical sciences.

1899 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.

1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.

1975 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

1985 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.

Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.