LibGuides: Health Services Administration: Find Articles

Clinical Healthcare

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1937 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
1966 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Covers the dental literature, including general and pediatric dentistry, endodontics, odontology, dental public health, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, and periodontology. The Journal of Dental Research is full text back to 1919.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
1981 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, such as aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics.
Medline
1946 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
MEDLINE on this service contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE.
PsycINFO
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide (PDF – Links to an external source may not be accessible) for help using the database.
PubMed
Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.

Management and Business

ABI/INFORM Collection
1971-present (Restricted to ODU)
Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics periodicals. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI/INFORM Global
1971-Present (Restricted to ODU)
ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
EconLit with Full Text
1886 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for nearly 600 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, Journal of Economic Perspectives, and the four American Economic Journal titles). This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. Volume and issue browsing is available for all full-text journals.

Legislation, Policy, and Regulation

CQ Researcher
Coverage varies(Restricted to ODU)
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Historic and current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR's data holdings are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 780 member colleges and universities around the world. First time users must access this link to create an account.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Lexis Nexis Academic has been up graded to Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices. Students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable setting of Alerts, saving searches and bookmarking documents of interest.
Political Science Complete
1922 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), and Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (1789-present). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
1900 - present (includes Archives) (Restricted to ODU)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
SocIndex with Full Text
1908 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Tests and Measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
1985 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print includes timely, consumer-oriented test reviews that provide evaluative information to promote and encourage informed test selection. There is a limit of 4 simultaneous users on this database.
PsycTESTS
1896 to present (Restricted to ODU)
Is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Tests in Print
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Serves as a comprehensive bibliography to commercially available tests in the English language. Provides vital information including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Tests in Print is now integrated into the same database as the Mental Measurements Yearbook. There is a limit of 4 simultaneous users on this database.

Related and Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.