Public Health

Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Premier database for nursing and allied health literature along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.  Try the PICOT search feature.

1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide (PDF – Links to an external source may not be accessible) for help using the database.

Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.

Historic and current (Restricted to ODU)
Find, deposit, and manage access to a vast archive of social science data. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 800 member colleges and universities around the world. 

1790-present (Restricted to ODU/VIVA)
Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present. Provides access to fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. To use Social Explorer remotely, save, and share projects, please create a personal account.

Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.

1970 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indexes literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.

Coverage varies by database (Restricted to ODU)
Simultaneously searches the EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. (Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all seven databases.)

Current (Restricted to ODU)
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).