LibGuides: LIBS 658: Knowledge Resources: Planning, Selecting, and Managing Collections: Databases & Journals

Using This Section

This section provides databases that you might find useful for research collection development policy, current librarian collections practices, and information-seeking behavior of populations. Most of the articles in these resources are peer-reviewed and scholarly, but be sure to check before you cite them.

If you need assistance navigating these resources, do not hesitate to reach out to the Education Librarian.

Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education, The
Current (Restricted to ODU)
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
1980 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation. Coverage back to 1980.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
1960's - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings, covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Journals

Subject-related journals at ODU are provided by BrowZine. Use the link below to navigate to BrowZine and navigate to "Social Science and Behavioral Science" and then to "Library and Information Science" for LIS-related journals.

The following journal titles are recommended:

Collection and Curation
Collection Building
Collection Management
Collections: A Journal for Museum and Archives Professionals
College & Research Libraries
College & Undergraduate Libraries
Journal of Library Resource Sharing
Journal of the Society of Archivists
New Review of Academic Librarianship
The Journal of Academic Librarianship

Additionally, you may browse open access journals via the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Browzine

Coverage varies by Journal (Restricted to ODU)
Enables faculty, staff and students to browse, read and monitor many of the University Libraries’ scholarly journals.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Coverage varies by journal (ODU/VIVA/Unrestricted)
Provides free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, aiming to cover all subjects and languages. There are a growing number of journals in the directory, with many of them searchable on article level.