LibGuides: LIBS 658: Knowledge Resources: Planning, Selecting, and Managing Collections: Finding Demographic Data

Websites

The type of demographic data you need will depend on the type of library you are developing a collection policy for. However, general population statistics and insights are helpful in understanding the community a library serves. Demographic data is often found on government (.gov) websites. Check local county, city, or state demographics based on the population you are interested in researching.

Explore U.S. Census Data
Searchable database of data from the United States census.
Institution of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Data
Explore data about individual libraries, broadband adoption, funding reports, and more.
National Center for Education Statistics Data Tools
Tools provided by NCES that provide publicly available data, maps, and demographic information.
Public Library Association (PLA) Surveys and Data
Explore survey information about public libraries, administered by PLA (part of ALA).
Topics from the U.S. Census Bureau
Provides descriptive pages of topics and subtopics surrounding census data. This includes health insurance, poverty levels, income statistics, and more.
U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts
Virginia Department of Education Statistics & Reports
A list of reports provided by the VDE on a variety of data on public education in the Commonwealth. This is includes enrollment, demographics, student achievement, finances, school climate, staffing, safety, and more.
Virginia School Quality Profiles
Virginia’s School Quality Profiles provide information about student achievement, college and career readiness, program completion, school safety, teacher quality and other topics of interest to parents and the general public. Report cards are available for schools, school divisions and for the commonwealth.

Library Databases

Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Social Explorer
1790-present (Restricted to ODU/VIVA)
Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present. Provides access to fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. To use Social Explorer remotely, save, and share projects, please create a personal account.