LibGuides: Geography: Articles

Academic or Scholarly Databases

Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
1900 - present (includes Archives) (Restricted to ODU)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1908 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Environment Complete
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

Environment Complete
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.

CQ Researcher
Coverage varies(Restricted to ODU)
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.