Geography

Contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States and its territories. The Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State, county, and geographic coordinates. The GNIS was developed by the United States Geological Survey in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN), and is the Nation's official repository of domestic geographic names information.

Contains thousands of maps of land, space, and oceans.

Informs people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues; provides timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications.

As the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.

Holds over one million books and journals, 450,000 maps, 370,000 microforms, 270,000 pamphlets, 250,000 black-and-white photographs, 50,000 color transparencies, 15,000 field record notebooks, and 250 videocassettes. Materials include USGS publications as well as those produced by state and foreign geological surveys, scientific societies, museums, academic institutions, and government scientific agencies.

1700 1900
Contains thousands of maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Site uses pop-ups.

Combines satellite imagery, maps and the power of Google Search to put the world's geographic information at your fingertips. Show local points of interest and facts, zoom to a specific address, view driving directions, and more.

Focuses on historical Americana collections and cartographic treasures representing a small percentage of the Library of Congress map collections, and includes 7 major categories including cities, battles, exploration, environment, and cultural landscapes.

Describes the key properties, characteristics, and preferred uses of many historically important projections and of those frequently used by mapmakers today. Provided by the United States Geological Survey.

Like its predecessor, this new atlas provides a comprehensive, maplike view into the enormous wealth of geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States.

Contains dynamic maps and geographic data organized by themes, such as political, cultural, physical, and weather. Also includes historical maps, flags and facts for countries, and maps and information on global conservation areas.

Delivers topographic information for the Nation, including orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.

Contains thousands of map images from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Provides access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States from the U.S. Geologic Survey digital orthophoto quadrangles (DOQs) (aerial imagery) and digital raster graphics (DRGs) (topographic maps).

Contains mapping information, products and services from the United States Geological Survey, which is the federal agency charged with classification of the public lands, and examination of the geological structure, mineral resources, and products of the national domain.