American History

Coverage varies by database (Restricted to ODU)
Includes the following fulltext databases: Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County.

1690 - 1998 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eleven series of Early American Newspapers (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; Series 10, 1730-1900; Series 11, 1803-1899), and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

1740 - 1940 (Restricted to ODU)
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

1830 - 1865 (Restricted to ODU)
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.

16th - 18th Century (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries from two collections: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.

1690 - 1922 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eleven series. Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; Series 10, 1730-1900, and Series 11, 1803-1899. And also, includes African American Newspapers.

1857 - 1877 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads.

19th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1704 – Present (Restricted to ODU)
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent.

1535-1920 (Restricted to ODU)
Covers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years. The collection includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera. Compiled by the curators of the Afro-Americana Imprints collection.

Historic and Current (Restricted VIVA/ODU)
This content is essential for teaching and research not only in the growing discipline of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked. Includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, documentaries, and interviews.

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Search or browse across the following Gale historical newspaper and periodical collections: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and the Times Digital Archive.

16th Century – 20th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A comprehensive collection of primary source documents from American and Canadian government sources and institutions, tribal publications, and documents from Indian-related organizations, including a selection of indigenous-language materials. The collection covers topics such as Indian removal, Indian wars and the frontier army, Indian delegations and Indian-federal relations, treaty policies, government boarding and missionary schools, dances and festivals, Indian languages and linguistics, water and fishing rights, civil rights, and more. Together, these primary sources enable in-depth study of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century.

1882-1986 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II, provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. It contains around 350,000 pages of incoming and outgoing correspondence, organizational records, and printed material, including early pamphlets and publications both by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian-related organizations. The papers of Herbert Welsh, founder of the Indian Rights Association, are also included.

1450 - 1850 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 provides unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.

19th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society; Archive 2: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and Archive 4: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.

1500 -1926 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts ofexploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

1490-2007 (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.

Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), Congressional Hearings (1824-2003), and Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (1789-present). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).