LibGuides: Journalism: Reference

Finding Reference Material

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, etc.) help provide background information, context, historical timelines, etc. when you need to learn more about a topic.

General Reference

Journalist's Toolbox
Many many links to fact-checking sources. From the Society of Professional Journalists.
InfoPlease
Contains various reference resources.
ODU's Find General Reference Resources
Information Please Almanac
Statistics and up-to-date facts and figures. Free resource, with many ads!

Oxford English Dictionary
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.

Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book Sage Reference
ISBN: 9780761929574
Publication Date: 2009-09-25

Company, Industry, Organization

Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Charity Navigator
For information about non-profit companies and organizations.
GuideStar: Directory of Charities and Nonprofit Organizations
GuideStar is the most complete source of information about U.S. charities and other nonprofit organizations there is. Search our database of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized organizations to find a charity to support, benchmark your own nonprofit's performance, research the sector, and more.
Guide to Company and Industry Information

Country Studies

CIA World Factbook
Provides basic data and profiles on foreign nations, including geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation and military. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).

Maps and Atlases

Library of Congress Online Map Collections
Primarily historic, but some current, maps from the Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room.
First Gov Maps
Provides access to current thematic maps and mapping information for the United States.
USA.gov Maps
Provides access to current thematic maps and mapping information for the United States.
GeoPlatform.gov
"The GeoPlatform provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public and by government agencies and partners to meet their mission needs."

Journalism

Biographical Sources

Legal Information

Quotations

Finding Reference Material

General Reference

Company, Industry, Organization

Country Studies

Maps and Atlases