LibGuides: Journalism: Articles

Finding Articles

Databases allow you find articles on your topic. Articles often focus on one specific aspect of a topic, and they are generally published in periodicals—publications including peer-reviewed and scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines, trade publications, and newspapers.

Academic and Scholarly Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

The following databases are useful for finding journal articles on research in journalism. You may also find citations to books, book chapters, and other research materials.

Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

News Databases

NewsLink
Identify hundreds of newspapers and news sources by location.

In addition to searching individual newspapers, use any of the following to identify news sources.

Access World News
1996 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides unique coverage of local and regional newspapers, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.
NewsBank
Coverage varies by database (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Lexis Nexis Academic has been up graded to Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices. Students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable setting of Alerts, saving searches and bookmarking documents of interest.
Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.

Journalism Publications

American Journalism Review AJR
Contains selected articles from the American Journalism Review. The "Resources" section includes links to valuable resources for journalists.
Columbia Journalism Review
Through its fast-turn analysis and deep reporting, CJR is an essential venue not just for journalists, but also for the thousands of professionals in communications, technology, academia, and other fields reliant on solid media industry knowledge.
Nieman Reports
Online version of the Nieman Reports, a publication of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University.
Poynter Online
Covers all aspects of journalism from the Poynter Institute for Media Studies.
Publications of the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy (Harvard University)
The Shorenstein Center publishes reports and papers written by Fellows and affiliated faculty members that examine themes associated with press, politics and the making of public policy.

Journalism

Instructional Services Librarian

ProCon Sources

Finding Articles

Academic and Scholarly Databases

News Databases

Journalism Publications