European History

1600-1950 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.

Late 1700's - 1800's (Restricted to ODU)
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Coverage varies by index (Restricted to ODU)
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.

Coverage varies by periodical (Restricted to ODU)
Brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.

1941 - 1996 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports provide a unique historical archive essential for international studies, political science and world history.