LibGuides: Ocean and Earth Sciences: Dissertations & Theses

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations and theses are reports of original research are important contributions to the scholarly record. At ODU, dissertations are required for all doctoral candidates, and a thesis from all thesis-option master's candidates. Theses and dissertations report "the original work done by the student under the supervision of the advisory committee" (ODU Graduate School Thesis & Dissertation Preparation & Submission).

Finding Dissertations & Theses

All ODU theses and dissertations since Fall 2016 are available in a collection within ODU Digital Commons. Backfiles to 1976 of dissertations (and some theses) have also been added.

Dissertations & Theses
Use this ODU Library how-to guide for more information about finding dissertations and theses.

You can also search the following databases:

Dissertations & Theses Global
1743 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU
1861 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.