LibGuides: Ocean and Earth Sciences: Recommended Databases

About Databases

Library databases are a great place to access information that you would not have access to via a Google search. In databases, you can find things like:

Peer-Reviewed Articles
Electronic Books
News
Audio & Visual Materials
Dissertations
& much more!

For a full listing of our databases, check out the Databases A-Z link on the library homepage.

Monarch OneSearch searches many of our databases, including ProQuest and Elsevier databases, however, it does not include results from all databases.

Key Resources

Start here! Below are some essential resources for research in Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences.

ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.
Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.
GeoRef
1693 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Oceanic Abstracts
1981 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships and shipping, and marine biology.

Additional Databases

Applied Science & Technology
1983 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics, and much more.
Aqualine
1960 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
BioOne COMPLETE
Coverage Varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A database of over 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Nature Journals Online
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to some of the Nature Publishing Group (NPG) resources in biological and physical sciences.
PLOS
Coverage varies (ODU/VIVA/Unrestricted)
A nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection
1693 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Science and technology database which combines full text journals with indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology.
SciFinder-n
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database.
Water Resources Abstracts
This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. Coverage: 1967-present.