The ODU Libraries provide many services and resources, including Monarch OneSearch, subject specific databases, research consultations, interlibrary loan, and ODU Digital Commons, among others. This page provides an overview of a selection of library resources.
Monarch OneSearch is the main search box on the Libraries' homepage. You can use Monarch OneSearch to find scholarly articles, print books, e-books, news, and film. You can refine your search using the limiters on the left-hand side of the page. For example, to find journal articles on a topic, you can limit your search to Articles.
You can use Monarch OneSearch to search for a subject encyclopedia or dictionary. Encyclopedias and Subject Dictionaries can be a good way of reading up on background information to help you narrow a broad topic. To search for a subject encyclopedia or dictionary in Monarch OneSearch, type in your broad topic and then the type of resource you need. For example: geology AND encyclopedia
For more information, please refer to the Monarch OneSearch Help library guide.
If you don't find what you need using Monarch OneSearch, or find way too many resources to sift through, selecting a Subject Database is a way to focus your results and find research articles. Library databases are a great place to access information that you would not have access to via a Google search. In databases, you can find things like peer-reviewed articles, electronic books, news, audio & visual materials, dissertations, and more.
You can view all of the databases provided by the ODU Libraries on our Databases A-Z list and this guide provides subject specific databases.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service you can use to request and receive research materials that the ODU Libraries do not own. It is free for current students , faculty, and staff at ODU.
Do not pay for articles and papers from publishers as long as you are a student at ODU.
For more information, see ILL FAQs.
ODU Digital Commons is ODU's institutional repository, which preserves, promotes, and shares the scholarly, creative, and institutional work of Old Dominion University. Materials include journal articles, book chapters, research projects, technical reports, conference papers, university publications, datasets, theses/dissertations, multimedia presentations (PowerPoint presentations, podcasts, images, video) and more.
In addition, if you would like more information on how to use library services and resources, please check out our Help & How To Videos guide.