LibGuides: Data and Statistics: Additional Data Sources

Introduction

This section provides links to various sources for locating data, including international sources. The listing is not meant to be exhaustive.

Data are often deposited into repositories, which "are a centralized place to hold data, share data publicly, and organize data in a logical manner" (Harvard Medical School Data Repositories).

Data and repositories can also be indexed (or listed) in registries, which provide links out to data or repositories.

The Data Repositories to Store, Share, and Search for Data section of the Data Management @ ODU guide may include additional data repositories in which to search for data.

General Data Sources

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
DataCite Commons
Search for works, people, organizations and repositories.

Social Explorer
1790-present (Restricted to ODU/VIVA)
Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present. Provides access to fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. To use Social Explorer remotely, save, and share projects, please create a personal account.

Data Archives and Repositories

Specific repositories that store, archive, and make data available are shown below:

Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
figshare
figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. Limit your search by type to "Dataset."
ICPSR-- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Historic and current. (Access restricted to ODU)
Zenodo
Zenodo is a digital repository for research across all fields of science. Limit to "Dataset."

International Sources

International Financial Statistics
1948 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

NationMaster.com
Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA Factbook.
UN Data
From the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), this is an internet based data service that brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.
OECD Data Explorer
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) was established in 1961 with 38 current members. In 2014 the organization began making its data more easily accessible, and has adopted an open-access information model.

Search for a repository

Several registries for searching for repositories are listed below

re3data
RE3 [The REgistry of REsearch Date REpositories] is a powerful search tool for finding research data repositories worldwide.
Data Repositories
This is a list hosted by Simmons College of repositories and databases for open data. Grouped by discipline.