Theater Arts & Dance

This state agency was created to support and stimulate excellence in all of the arts, in their full cultural and ethnic diversity, and to make the arts accessible to all Virginians. The Commission provides financial assistance for arts activities and information/advisory services to artists, arts organizations, and others interested in the arts.

Housed in the Rare Book and Special Collections Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.

Describes the Library's collection of works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals. The catalog is extensively indexed and many items have detailed descriptions.

Includes 925 records of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts. This database is an on-going research project developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program and retired IU faculty member, Herbert Seltz.

Provides free access to digital fashion and costume collections across Europe. This archive features 700,000-plus objects, including clothing accessories, photographs, posters, illustrations, and videos.