Communication

A nonprofit organization that supports the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education. Access to services such as ComAbstracts, ComIndex, ComVista (a directory of scholars and degree programs) and articles in The Electronic Journal of Communication.

IAMCR is considered the preeminent worldwide professional organization in the field of media and communication research. It aims to support and develop media and communication research throughout the world. Includes a list of open access journals in the field.

From the website: "ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication."

NCA serves the scholars, teachers, and practitioners who are its members by enabling and supporting their professional interests in research and teaching. Dedicated to fostering and promoting free and ethical communication, NCA promotes the widespread appreciation of the importance of communication in public and private life, the application of competent communication to improve the quality of human life and relationships, and the use of knowledge about communication to solve human problems.

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the nation’s largest professional organization serving the communications community with a mission to “make communications professionals smarter, better prepared and more connected through all stages of their career.”

Founded in 1967, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communications.

The Society for Cinema and Media Studies is the leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.

Includes links to communication and related sites compiled by John Reinard, faculty at California State University, Fullerton.

Departmental home page for communication studies at the University of Iowa. Includes a rich resource for communication web links from the University of Iowa.

Premier reviewing source for movies past and present.

Includes over 350 website links to various communication resources and organizations.

Popular review source for movies, DVD's, independent films, and TV.

Focuses on writing skills in communication and includes dozens of web links.

The online resource for the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation. Includes over 600 interviews with well-established TV personalities. Interviews are indexed by shows, people, topics, and genres.