Skip to main content

University Archives Research Guide

Photographs and Audiovisual Material

To start your research, enter your keywords into the search box in the Special Collections Database.Alpha Phi Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta Step Show, 1980s

The University Archives contains photographs of campus buildings and grounds, student life, athletics, faculty and staff, special events, and more! The best source of photographs and audiovisual material of ODU history can be found in the Old Dominion University Photographic and Multimedia Collection. This collection contains over 20,000 print photographs as well as digital images, negatives, contact sheets, and slides from 1930 to 2005. The print photographs have been scanned and are available in the ODU Photographic Collection in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.. The bulk of the audiovisual material in the collection are VHS tapes used to market ODU to the community.

Images can also be found in the University Archives throughout it's holdings including office files, personal papers of faculty and staff, yearbooks, as well as the student newspapers, The High Hat and Mace & Crown.

Scrapbooks of newspaper clippings related to the history of ODU from the Virginian-Pilot and Norfolk Ledger-Star from 1930 to 1979 are available in the Old Dominion University Scrapbook Collection.

Oral histories of faculty, staff, administrators, and community members discussing the history of ODU can be found in the Oral Histories in Perry Library digital collection.