LibGuides: Researching ODU History: Buildings and Grounds

Buildings and Grounds

Information about buildings and grounds at ODU can be found in several collections so please start with the ODU Archives Database. The best sources of information about buildings and grounds can be found in the following collections:

Office of the President
Facilities Management. While the University Archives contains a select number of blueprints of buildings, most of the blueprints can be found in the Office of Real Estate and Space Management
Office of the Vice President for Administration and Finance
Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary and Old Dominion College Records

Old Dominion University History Wiki
The wiki contains information on a variety of topics related to ODU history including buildings, traditions, etc.
ODU Libraries Digital Exhibits
The ODU Libraries Digital Exhibits features "Building the University," which gives a chronology of all the past and present buildings on campus.
ODU Photographic Collection
Digital photographs of the history of ODU, featuring building and grounds, can be found in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collection. These include print photographs and newspaper clippings from the University Archives from 1930 to 2004.
Student Newspapers
Student newspapers The High Hat and Mace & Crown feature news articles related to buildings on campus.
UNews, University News, The Courier
These faculty and staff newspapers contain articles related to buildings and grounds at ODU from 1972 to 2009.
Mapping the University
A digital archives project between George Mason University and ODU demonstrating how the two campuses have evolved over time. Includes digitized primary source documents as well as an interactive campus map to show the growth of ODU over the years.