LibGuides: Graduate Research In Humanities: Finding Articles in Journals

Searching Tips for Finding Articles in Databases

Take a look at the database searching tips page from MIT Libraries. If this page doesn't answer your question, please contact me with any questions.

MIT Libraries: Database Search Tips
A helpful overview of various tips and techniques for searching databases.

Finding Articles In Art Topics

ARTbibliographies Modern
1974 - present (Restricted to ODU)
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.
Art Full Text
1984 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index Retrospective
1913-Present, (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934 - present (Restricted to ODU)
This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
1975 - 2007 (Unrestricted)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
1973 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
International Bibliography of Art
2008 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from the Getty Research Institute.

Finding Articles in Communication Topics

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
ComAbstracts
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available at this external link that may not be accessible.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes nearly 100 books, Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present, and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Finding Articles in Linguistics Topics

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
1973 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.

Finding Articles in Literature Topics

Literature Resource Center
Varied (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Coverage varies by database (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Finding Articles in Music Topics

Music Index
1970- present (Restricted to ODU)
Indexes international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music. Includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
1967 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.

Finding Articles in Philosophy and Religion Topics

Philosopher's Index
1940 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
PhilPapers
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. It also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
1975 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracts as well as full-text, peer-reviewed journals, covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Finding Articles In Mutidisicplianry Topics

Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to national and international newspapers, many cover-to-cover full-text. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
Project Muse
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

Graduate Research In Humanities

Google Scholar

Humanities

Finding Articles in EJournal Collections

Searching Tips for Finding Articles in Databases

Finding Articles In Art Topics

Finding Articles in Communication Topics

Finding Articles in Linguistics Topics

Finding Articles in Literature Topics

Finding Articles in Music Topics

Finding Articles in Philosophy and Religion Topics

Finding Articles In Mutidisicplianry Topics