LibGuides: Graduate Research In Humanities: Books, Reference & More

Books

Monarch OneSearch

Search for books using Monarch OneSearch on the library homepage. After you search, narrow your Resource Type to Books by using the option on the left-hand side of the screen.

Electronic Books

A large number of our e-books come from two providers: EBL and Ebrary. These providers enable the Libraries to get e-books from many different publishers. We also buy e-books in collections from single publishers. See below for links to these publishers. We explain how to use e-books from our many providers in this guide.

http://guides.lib.odu.edu/ebooks

Ebook Central
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Ebook Central, on the ProQuest platform, provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas including History, The Arts, Social Sciences, Literature & Language, Health & Medicine, Business, and Science & Technology.
SpringerLink: Linguistics
1997 - present (Restricted to ODU)
eBook Package of SpringerLink books in the sub-discipline Linguistics.

Reference

Reference resources such as subject specific encyclopedias can be a great way to gain a broader understanding of a topic. Check out these reference resources, and search our holdings for more.

Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
1999-2014 (Restricted to ODU)
The encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource covering the diverse field of applied linguistics. It brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. The resource combines individual entries with longer, essay-style contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas.
Gale eBooks
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Art Online
Prehistory - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a gateway to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford English Dictionary
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.
Oxford Music Online
Prehistory to present (Restricted to ODU)
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
Historic and Current (Restricted to ODU)
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
SAGE Knowledge
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
SAGE Knowledge includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles, and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse video, book, and reference titles within the Social Sciences and Education, including African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Psychology, and many other areas.
Wiley Online Library
2007-Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to journals, online books, and reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Dissertations and Theses

Searching the Dissertations and Theses database can be useful for graduate students to make sure their research has not already been done. All researchers can benefit from the usually extensive literature review and bibliographies provided.

How to Find Dissertations & Theses
Use this ODU Library how-to guide for more information about finding dissertations and theses.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
1743 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU
1861 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Presents an index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995. Includes all records previously published in earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology, still available for sale.