Newspapers

1916 - 2003 (Restricted to ODU)
Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the "Dean of the Negro Press", The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.

1865 – 1990 (Restricted to ODU)
The Virginian-Pilot (Norfolk, VA) archive contains fully searchable scanned page images from microfilm for The Virginian-Pilot (1865 - 1989). Content can also be accessed from Access World News.

1857 - 1877 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads.

1851 - 2015 (Restricted to ODU)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

1889 - 2010 (Restricted to ODU)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

1877 - 2006 (Restricted to ODU)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

1888 - 2010 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper since 1888 can be searched and browsed. An essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.

1842 - 2003 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains the full facsimile run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper.

1822 - 2016 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

1785 - 2014 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page from The Times of London, first published in 1785. All articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos are divided into categories to facilitate searching.

1902 - 2014 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications - in every subject, in several languages - as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions. This is the essential companion for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU.
Search or browse across the following Gale historical newspaper and periodical collections: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, British Library Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times Historical Archive, Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

1800s (Restricted to ODU)
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also included are large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry, prose and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience.

1690 - 1998 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eleven series of Early American Newspapers (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; Series 10, 1730-1900; Series 11, 1803-1899), and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

1690 - 1922 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eleven series. Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; Series 10, 1730-1900, and Series 11, 1803-1899. And also, includes African American Newspapers.

19th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1757 - 1817 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) representing the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.

1800 - 1900 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

1600-1950 (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.