LibGuides: HIED 752/852: Law in Higher Education: Getting Started

Databases for Legal Research

Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Legal Collection
1965 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.
HeinOnline
2000-Present (Restricted to ODU)
HeinOnline focuses on legal history and government documents. It contains the full text of thousands of law-related periodicals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations. HeinOnline also includes treaties, case law, world trials, statutes, and foreign relations materials.
CQ Press Library
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
The place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CQ Press Library includes the online version of the award-winning CQ Researcher. It features US Political Stats, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Public Affairs Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection.
ProQuest Congressional
Coverage varies by collection (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), and Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (1789-present). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).

Other Related Databases

Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

1966 - present (Unrestricted)
A full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
Disclaimer: Read about changes to ERIC content. Contact the ERIC help desk with questions.

Need to Practice?

If you want to practice law research, based on what you learned in class, here are some activities that may help!

Activity #1

Access the Nexis Uni database through this Guide or ODU's Databases A-Z page. Look up the case Grutter V. Bollinger, 539 U.S. 306.
Briefly scan the information and documents available.
Shepardize the case by selecting the "Preview" button next to the case, or select the title of the case and open it.

Activity # 2

Access the ProQuest Congressional database (either using the HIED 753/853 course guide or the Databases A-Z link on the library homepage)
Search for “Every Student Succeeds Act.”
Explore available options and narrow results using filters.

Activity #3

Use Google Scholar to search for legal documents related to Brown v. Board of Education.
Use Google Scholar to search for legal cases pertaining to Norfolk City Public Schools (or any other topic that interests you).