HLSC 899: Dissertation for Health Sciences

Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Premier database for nursing and allied health literature along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.  Try the PICOT search feature.

Current (Restricted to ODU)
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).

1966 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Covers the dental literature, including general and pediatric dentistry, endodontics, odontology, dental public health, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, and periodontology. The Journal of Dental Research is full text back to 1919.

Coverage varies by database (Restricted to ODU)
Simultaneously searches the EBM Reviews: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. (Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all seven databases.)

Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.

1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

1966 - present (Unrestricted) 

A full-text database of education research and information.  It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.  
Disclaimer:  Read about changes to ERIC content.  Contact the ERIC help desk with questions.

Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
The place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CQ Press Library includes the online version of the award-winning CQ Researcher. It features US Political Stats, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Public Affairs Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection.

1965 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

1922 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.

Historic and current (Restricted to ODU)
Find, deposit, and manage access to a vast archive of social science data. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 800 member colleges and universities around the world. 

1878 - present (Restricted to ODU)
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.

Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.

1975 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

1985 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.

1967 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

1960-present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.

As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.

Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.

Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
The place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. CQ Press Library includes the online version of the award-winning CQ Researcher. It features US Political Stats, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Public Affairs Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection.

1965 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, covering legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

1922 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.

Historic and current (Restricted to ODU)
Find, deposit, and manage access to a vast archive of social science data. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 800 member colleges and universities around the world. 

1878 - present (Restricted to ODU)
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.